The Australian Universities International Directors’ Forum (AUIDF) was established in 2002 in response to a need for mutual support in dealing with increasing numbers of international students coming to Australian institutions. The aim of AUIDF is to support University stakeholders to advance the quality reputation of international education in Australia through increased cooperation and cohesion.

One of the key activities of the group is participating in benchmarking studies on specific aspects of international operations of Australian universities which have included: costs of an international office as a proportion of on-campus international student revenue, staffing of admissions, costs of recruiting for key overseas source countries, conversion rates from applications to offers to commencements, the structure of International Offices and outbound exchange program statistics.

AUIDF Constitution

The current chair of AUIDF is Sunny Yang, Monash University. 2016 – Present

Executive Officer Kate Myles _______________________________________________________________________

Past Chairs of AUIDF


Kelly Smith 2015-2016


Jo Profile picJo Asquith 2010 – 2015

With twenty years experience within Australian schools and universities, encompassing a variety of roles from, primary school teacher, University lecturer in Physical and Outdoor Education, Indigenous support teacher, including the past fifteen years in international education.

Jo has had first hand experience within university international education and held several senior positions in student mobility, marketing and admissions and has been a Director International at two Australian Universities.

Jo is currently Director, Future Students at James Cook University and has held this position since 2011.


     Tracy McCabe 2008 – 2010

Tracy has been a well known figure in international education throughout Australia for nearly 20 years, working in more than 40 countries.

She was head of the International Students Office at the University of South Australia for eight years and from 2002 was Director International at the University of Newcastle.

The AUIDF also support the Tracy McCabe Fellowship. Nominations for this fellowship open in April each year.


     Dr Bruce Mackintosh 2004 – 2008


Bruce Mackintosh followed Stephen Connelly as Chair of AUDF, from 2004 to 2008.

He was Director of the International Centre at UWA from 1996 to 2009, and briefly in 2003, Head of the International Office of the University of Westminster, London. In 2006-07 he was Chair of the Universities of Perth and Deputy Chair of Perth Education City, and in 2005-06 an inaugural member of the Council of IEAA.

Bruce retired from the International Centre at UWA in 2009, and is currently working part time as an independent international education consultant, involved in professional development courses, and co-editing with Dorothy Davis a book on the history and achievements of international education in Australia.

He is also an Adjunct Associate Professor and Honorary Research Fellow in Animal Biology at UWA.


     Mr. Stephen Connelly 2002 – 2004


Stephen Connelly was foundation Chair of the Australian Universities International Directors Forum from 2002 to 2004.

He was also Chair of the Victorian International Directors Committee from 2000 to 2002, and is currently President of the International Education Association Australia (IEAA).

Stephen is Deputy Vice-Chancellor (International & Development) at RMIT University. Prior to his appointment in February 2010, he spent five years at Swinburne University of Technology as Pro Vice Chancellor (International) and later Deputy Vice Chancellor (Development and Engagement), and seven years at La Trobe University as Director of International Marketing and then Director of the International Programs Office.

He has lived and worked overseas in Germany and Malaysia, and has more than twenty years experience in international education.

Stephen is a graduate of Monash and Melbourne Universities.

Comments are closed.