Tracy McCabe Future Leader Fellowship

Nominations for the 2016 Tracy McCabe Future Leader Fellowship are now open and will close at midnight on Friday 9 September 2016.  The nomination form can be found here. The awardee will be announced during the AIEC Plenary Session in October in Melbourne.


The Tracy McCabe Future Leader Fellowships provides an up-and-coming leader in Australian international higher education with a AUD7,000 fellowship to be used toward a leadership program or other professional development activity that will support their career progression as an international education leader.

Applicants must be currently working in an Australian university in a role directly or indirectly connected with international education, and have shown demonstrated potential to become a future leader in the sector.

The annual Fellowship is supported by the Australia Universities International Directors’ Forum (AUIDF).

Fellowship Criteria

The fellowship will be offered to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding contributions in international education against at least two of the following three criteria:

i)      Conceptualisation and implementation of a successful international education program or activity, within or outside of their institution.

ii)     The fostering of collaborative relationships between individuals within an organisation or between organisations that have led to demonstrable improvements in service delivery for international students or internationalisation outcomes in general.

iii)   Demonstrating excellence in leadership values through teamwork and collaboration using diverse ideas and approaches.

Nomination Guidelines

Applications may be made by the nominee or by an individual who is familiar with their work.  Nominees must be currently employed in an Australian university.

The nomination must include:

  • Brief overview of the individuals achievements and leadership capability
  • Up to 500 words describing the individuals achievement and their contribution against two of the three selection criteria
  • A statement from the nominee, as to what they would use the fellowship funds for if they are the successful recipient
  • Names and contact details of two referees; and
  • A digital photo of the nominee

The selection panel for 2016 will be: Sue Moloney (CSU), Gabrielle Rolan (UniSA), Heidi Piper (Griffith) and Bronte Neyland (VU).

2015 Selection Panel: Sue Moloney (CSU), Andrew Everett (UQ), Alek Voninski (UNSW) and previous recipient Kirrilee Hughes (UNSW)

2014 Selection Panel: Sue Moloney (CSU), Dirk Mulder (UniSA), Alek Voninski (UNSW) and previous recipient Matthew Taverner (Flinders).

2013 Selection Panel: Ailsa Lamont (CQU), Sue Moloney (CSU) and Gregory Simmons (Ballarat)

2012 Selection Panel: Kathy Ramm (CQU, Monica Turney (CDU), Gabrielle Rolan (UNE)

2011 Working Group: Liz Stinson (La Trobe) and Joanne Barker (Adelaide)

Tracy McCabe Fellowship Background

2015 Recipient Bronte Neyland, Associate Director, International Marketing, Recruitment and Admissions, Victoria University International, Victoria University

2014 Recipient Kirrilee Hughes, Deputy Director – Indonesian Affairs, UNSW Australia

2013 Recipient Matthew Taverner, Associate Director – Development & Partnerships, Flinders University

2012 Recipient Emma Lincoln, Associate Director – Compliance & Quality, Swinburne University

2011 Recipient Simon Davies-Burrows, Manager International Admissions, Edith Cowan University

The award was presented by Professor William Purcell, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice-President (International and Development) University Technology Sydney. Tracy’s sister Kim was able to attend the ceremony and met with Simon to congratulate him on his achievement in her sister’s name.

Comments are closed.